Shelby County Parks 717 Burks Branch Road, Shelbyville, KY 40065 502.633.5059

parks board

The Shelbyville / Shelby County Parks Board was established in 1970 in an agreement between the City of Shelbyville and Shelby County Fiscal Court.  The Board consists of nine members of which four are county representatives, four are city representatives and the ninth is a joint representative. The board oversees and operates twelve park properties consisting of over 900 acres.  Board meetings are held the second Tuesday of each month at 7pm in the Family Activity Center Conference Room and is open to the public.  In order to address the parks board, please see public speaking policies below.  Board members are a mixture of Shelby County Fiscal Court members, Shelbyville City Council members and other community leaders and members and they serve on multiple park committees such as the FAC Advisory committee, Park Property committee, Personnel Committee and others that review policies and procedures and recommend changes or updates to programs, facilities, and other park business that are carried out by the Director of Parks.  Please see below for additional parks board information.

Shelbyville – Shelby County Parks Board Members (as of January, 2017) 

  • Hubert Pollett, Chairman and County Fiscal Court Rep.
  • R.H. Bennett, Vice-Chairman and County Rep.
  • Matt Burgin, Treasurer and County Rep.
  • Anna Simpson, Joint City / County Rep.
  • Jim Lyons, City Rep.
  • Angie Pereira, City Rep.
  • Dickie Phillips, County Rep.
  • Mike Harrod, City Rep.
  • Mike Zoeller, City Council Rep.

Board Meeting Information and Public Speaking Policies

Parks Board Bylaws

Shelby County Parks Approved Budget – 2016-2017

Shelby County Parks Year End Financials – 2015-2016

Original Board Formation Information – 1970’s

2016/2017 Meeting Minutes:

2017-2018 Meeting Minutes:
October – No Meeting

Next scheduled board meeting: Tuesday, March 13, 2018